Label Focus: Adrianne Neil Illustration

Adrianne Neil Prints at Kuji Shop

Latest in at Kuji Shop are these beautiful hand-drawn illustrative prints by Adrianne Neil.

Adrianne Neil is a freelance illustrator, curator and exhibitions co-ordinator based in Newcastle, UK who has been working independently for eight years. Her hand drawn illustration explores imagined realities and creatures, developed through a love of antiquated machinery, birds of all types, and Japanese woodblock prints.

Kimono Mountain

Recent projects include participating in Jake Blanchard’s Menagerie 3, and she is currently collaborating with Sheffield artist and designer Emma Presland (Illustrated Sport).

We chatted with Adrianne about her work, her inspiration and her plans for the future.

How long have you been drawing/illustrating? What is your background/education?
I’ve been an illustrator for about eight years. My background is in decorative art, and I also have an MA in curating. I currently split my time between working as an exhibitions co-ordinator and being a freelance illustrator

Who/what are you inspired by?
I’m inspired by the things that surround me – luckily I work for a contemporary art institution so I always have access to immense creativity, not just from the exhibitions I’m working on, but also my colleagues, many of whom are artists too. In terms of artists working in illustration or drawing as part of their practice, I’m a fan of Rachel Goodyear, Anna Garforth, Jake Blanchard and Emma Presland, who I also collaborate with.

Bird Cage Illustration

Your pieces have a very fantastical, unreal yet tactile quality, how do your concepts come about?
I take a great interest in sound art and alternative music, so going to performances and having the space to absorb someone else’s creativity really helps to get ideas going. I find reading a good source of inspiration and I enjoy how particular authors seem to help bring out the stranger aspects of my drawing. Combining these two activities with a good amount of daydreaming usually gets results.

What other projects are you working on at the moment?
Currently I’m working with Emma Presland on a competition entry for Illustrative Berlin.

Ancestry Print

What are your plans for the future?
My goal is to be in a position where I can draw every single day of the year – even if it’s only for ten minutes.

Why have you chosen to sell your prints at Kuji Shop?
Kuji Shop presents work by some fantastic artists and it’s great to be able to show my illustrations alongside them.

We love these works and are sure you will too – which is your favourite piece? Let us know in the comments. We have each piece for sale at just £20, and you can see our full collection here. You can see more of Adrianne’s work on her blog.
Camera Bird Print

About kujishop.co.uk

Independent retailer, bringing you exclusive fashion, gifts and art. Shop for unique products and quirky style at http://kujishop.co.uk
This entry was posted in FOCUS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

