Introducing… Gordon Holden

If you’re into your art and photography, and follow some cool blogs and zines (VICE mag being one of them), there’s a chance you’ve already heard of Gordon Holden. If you don’t? That’s fine, here’s everything you need to know:

Gordon HoldenGordon first introduced himself to us by saying ‘I like what you do. It is magical.’So naturally he was in our good books since any praise is a direct line to our heart/site.

Gordon is a conceptual artist from New York who creates art and art products. His work captures visual and tactile expression through the backwards mishmash of an osmosis of past and present pop culture and personally-derived abstract apprehension. This complex marriage of playful curiosity and cynical observation produces works that are both whimsical and thought-provoking.

After doing a bit of digging and throughly enjoying ourselves on Gordon’s website, we decided that his products and photography prints would be well suited to Kuji Shop. We are all about supporting underground/emerging artists, and try to pick up creatives from as many genres as possible. With that in mind, this is our first *foray* into photographic prints… Exciting stuff!

Gordon Holden art and photography

Gordon Holden’s photography is, aside from beautiful, almost documentary. Looking at his work makes us think of some sun-filled place where things happen and people constantly have parties. The type of place we’re jealous of really.

 

Gordon has a select range of items exclusively available at Kuji Shop – you can’t get these anywhere else in the UK at the moment. They’re hot stuff, they’re limited edition, they’re art, they’re… You get the point.

Gordon Holden Cry Baby print teeGordon Holden Romeo print tee

Above are two t-shirts from Gordon’s latest Heart Throb series, Cry Baby and Romeo. You know you’re officially a heart throb when your head is on a tee.

There is no doubting that these items are on the pricey side, but there’s good reason: What you’re getting here isn’t just a t-shirt, it’s a piece of art. Original art isn’t cheap, but it’s worth buying if you’re willing to splash a bit more money than usual on a top. Think of the investment!

We chatted to Gordon and asked him a few questions about his inspiration and his work, have a read:

How long have you been making art work?
I think i have been making artwork for a long time, longer than i am consciously aware of. But making things that people like to call art, probably about 3 years.

Where have you studied/worked?
I attended to the university of Vermont in the US for a bit. I have worked in multiple places. Some I liked some I didn’t.

How would you describe your style?
I’m not sure. I don’t really have too much of an opinion about the things I make. I don’t know if that is something up to me to decide. Sometimes I hate what I make and then people like it, and vice versa. I think everything I make isn’t necessarily for myself. Somethings are though.

How do you get inspiration for your work?
I wake up. I look at things. I think about things. I like to think about clothes and fashion and what to wear. I think that’s the hardest part of the day. And then maybe if I’m lucky enough to get that feeling, I’ll do something about it. I think inspiration can come from everything, it just has to be the right timing for it to inspire.

Why have you chosen to sell your work at Kuji Shop?
I like the concept behind the store and how they merge the idea of art and fashion together. Because after all, it is the same thing. Or at least I like to think so.

Be sure to check out our full range of Gordon Holden pieces… We’re loving the postcards. As always, let us know what you think in the comments…

About kujishop.co.uk

Independent retailer, bringing you exclusive fashion, gifts and art. Shop for unique products and quirky style at http://kujishop.co.uk
This entry was posted in FOCUS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

