The Musings of an Aspiring Jewellery Designer

Kate Garvey, a 22 year old Manchester-bred Jewellery and Accessories student based in London, reveals an insider’s perspective of Amy Lawrence‘s work and the pieces we have in store at the Kuji Shop! Ever wondered what it’s like to be an aspiring Jewellery Designer? Find out more here…

 

A selection of Kate Garvey's earring designs!

A selection of Kate Garvey’s earring designs!

So, straight up, what do you think of Amy Lawrence’s knitted designs?
I first came across her work when researching for my own project whilst studying. I was looking for an impressive contemporary jewellery maker that used textile techniques in a tasteful and unique way. Straight away I thought her work stood out from the crowd and did this really well! I would say Lawrence’s work is distinctive and different. I love her use of colour, geometric shapes & symmetry to create beautiful patterns within her work. This makes her pieces timeless… You could wear them over and over again!

 

Which would be your favourite necklace to wear over and over again?
It’s hard to choose… but I’d say my favourite piece is the Asp Knitted Necklace as it suits my own personal style! I love the colours used – I think they sit really well together and the Wine colour is really in season at the moment. As a fellow geometric shape lover, the pattern she has created for this particular piece is right up my street. I also love the fact she has displayed neck pieces in all different lengths and sizes… Some may not suit particular necklines and I think it is really good that she has produced a big variation. When when you take into account the cost of materials and the time it takes to produce pieces to this quality, I’d naturally expect to pay a little more for these original necklaces.

 

Amy Lawrence's Asp Knitted Necklace is available from Kuji Shop at £90!

Amy Lawrence’s Asp Knitted Necklace is available from Kuji Shop at £90!

When might you wear one of her pieces?
Well, one of the best things about Lawrence’s work is that her pieces are so striking, yet so simple- it makes them so wearable! You could wear it during the day for work, uni or shopping etc., but then you could wear it on a night out or for an evening event.

 

What do you think of her production methods?
I think it is really exciting that she uses a knitting machine to produce the textile element of her jewellery. I’d never heard of that process being used within jewellery making before so it opened my eyes to what can actually be done if you experiment and try new techniques outside of your comfort zone! 

 

Would you say that she has inspired or influenced your own work then?
Yes! I’d love to have the chance to meet her to ask more about the technique she uses, what her inspirations are and what it is like setting up your own business! I’d love to be successful in my own business and create pieces as unique and different as she has. Very inspirational! Lawrence loves pattern and textiles, as I do, and to incorporate that into jewellery in a modern way is really difficult. She has managed to do this in such a creative and unique way though, and this is something I am currently trying to do myself. Her work is all about the use of shape and colour which are also fundamental elements to my own work. 

 

How would you describe your own work as an aspiring jewellery designer?
Even after developing my work over the last four years as a student I still find it a bit hard to describe my own work! Having said that though, working with print designer Lisa Stannard last year really helped me narrow down my direction. She introduced me to the wonderful world of graphics and digital print! I’m aiming for my work to push the boundaries between print and jewellery. I want to create wearable fashion jewellery and accessories for the every day lady. My work will show my love for pattern and colour – just like Lawrence’s work actually!

 

Great! We’ll look forward to when your work is released! Do you have any last comments?
I think Kuji Shop is an amazing resource for showcasing independent designers work when it can be quite tricky to have access to it sometimes. Kuji Shop makes it a lot easier and also gives emerging designers the chance to show some of their work. It’s safe to say that there are loads of pieces I want to buy from Kuji Shop!

 

Thanks to Kate Garvey for the interview! Click here to see our range of Amy Lawrence’s Knitted Jewellery.

About kujishop.co.uk

Independent retailer, bringing you exclusive fashion, gifts and art. Shop for unique products and quirky style at http://kujishop.co.uk
This entry was posted in Fashion Designers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

